Education Governance Unit Committee

I. Areas of responsibility

The education governance unit committee for undergraduate teacher education programs shall have responsibility for initiating necessary program design and for approving and continually evaluating teacher education programs administered by the Dean of the College of Education.

II. Membership

The education governance unit committee for education programs shall consist of eight (8) members:

- A. The chair of teacher education shall be the voting chairperson.
- B. Three (3) faculty. Two of the three members shall be members of the College of Education and shall be experienced in elementary or secondary teaching and have continuing experience in elementary or secondary schools, be significantly involved and well informed about the preparation of teachers and the problems of schools and be experienced in and committed to the task of educating teachers for teaching in multicultural society. (Continuing experience is demonstrated through such activities as supervising students in field experiences and practicum, working with school personnel on curriculum revision, providing in-service education and engaging in research in school settings.) One of the three members shall be members of the College of Arts and Sciences.
- C. Two students who are active candidates in the teacher education program.
- D. Two practitioners of professional education. Encouraged are representatives of both parochial and public education. The chair of teacher education selects the practitioners from among the public and parochial schools in the area with approval of the Dean.
- E. The Dean of Education serves as an advisory member to the committee.

III. Activities of the education governance unit committee

The education governance unit committee for education shall:

- A. Supervise the organization, unification and coordination of teacher education programs.
- B. Evaluate teacher education programs using unit guidelines, professional society guidelines, and state, regional and national accreditation standards.
- C. Work in concert with the College of Education faculty to study, evaluate and recommend additions, deletions or changes in the curriculum.
- D. Study, evaluate, recommend, and communicate to the College of Education faculty proposed changes in general policy regarding teacher education programs.
- E. Consider matters referred by faculty, academic divisions, the Undergraduate Council or the dean of education.
- F. Study, evaluate and recommend any changes in student life placement policies to the College of Education faculty.

IV. Appointment

- A. The three faculty members are selected by the chair of teacher education with approval of the Dean. They will generally serve on an ongoing basis by mutual consent
- B. The two student representatives will be appointed by the chair of teacher education based on recommendations of teacher education program directors.
- C. The chair of teacher education will select the two practitioners.
- D. Vacancies on the governance unit between appointments shall be filled by the chair with approval of the Dean.
- E. Faculty members devoting three-fifths of their time to administrative posts by presidential appointment (e.g., vice president, deans, etc.) are ineligible for elected membership on the governance unit.

Membership 2012-2013

Kevin Kromminga – chair of teacher education
Beth Pester – director of middle level education
Amanda Geidel – director of special education

Laurie Zum Hofe – English professor – Arts and Sciences

Sister Mary Catherine – St. Vincent Catholic School

Kirk Gottschalk – Seward Middle School (public)

Amanda Abbott – candidate, middle level education

David Lindeman – candidate, elementary education